articles

The fine art of Control and Letting Go

Whether by choice or not, letting go of things like material possessions, incidences or emotional pain will enable you to better adapt to change and be more free. Not being tied to material things or emotion allows you to think more clearly about the present and future. Think of Spring cleaning. Don’t you feel incredibly better when the house is organized and free of clutter?  Our minds and emotions function much in the same way.

Control seems to coincide a bit with letting go. The more we feel the need to control situations or people, the less likely we are to be able to let go. I tried to think of it in terms of can I actually do something about this? Or is the outcome Beyond My Control anyway and am I feeling myself with needless worry?

During 2010 my house burned down and I lost just about everything. Whatever wasn’t completely lost was definitely damaged and I had to say goodbye to a lot of sentimental things. That incident definitely changed the rest of my life because now I don’t have an extreme attachment to material possessions like I used to. I had things that I thought I could not live without, then they were taken from me without my say-so and I was left with a decision. 

Either let it destroy me or get through it with a new lease on life. I chose the latter.

Something that came out of the tragedy was the feeling of knowing I needed very little to actually be happy and survive on top of being very grateful for the possessions that I did have. And I’m telling you, moving was a whole lot easier when everything just fit in the trunk of a car. Lol

I also enjoy having room for new possessions to enjoy. There’s only SO much room to live in and utilizing it with important materials makes so much sense.  

Leave a Reply

