Creative Writing

Ch-ch-ch-ch-changes.

Hello friends and fellow humans, happy Monday to all of you!

Change is an action of life that is completely inevitable. We can institute change or change can inflict itself upon us without our expressed written consent. Most people, I have discovered, do not handle change well and certainly don’t welcome it. People like to be stuck in routine for some reason. I guess it’s comfortable, familiar and doesn’t cause us to have to think of any new things. Routine does have its positive aspect in that practice makes perfect! Routine allows us to do things so consistently that we should be getting better at them. That’s really the only time I involve myself in the action of routine.

I’m not sure when or how it happened but somewhere along the way I became quite chameleon like. Plummeted into so much involuntary change, (near fatal car accidents, house fire, robbery & identity theft) I played the cards I was dealt and now I’m left enjoying the sensation and thrill of new things. 

Most recently, I uprooted myself from the several years of stability I had created in order to try to find the internal peace that I have been lacking. It was frightening. It caused me a degree of unrest and pain. But I did it anyway. 

The payoff was worth it. It’s difficult to overcome the fears that are instilled in us by nature, we’ll never know if there’s anything out there unless we try.

What is the most frightening change that you’ve ever had to deal with in your life?

Leave a Reply

