Pieces for Sale in Shop

The Body as a Brush Project

Hello and good evening!

In my efforts to find continual inspiration within myself and new ways to express that inspiration, I have begun a new project that I call ‘the Body as a Brush’ project. 

What if…in some futuristic world of an apocalyptic nature…there are no brushes? Not much canvas anywhere? Barely any paint to be found? Underground artists hiding in the shadows of the postrumpalypse…using charred remains of the burned buildings for the medium or remnants of melted wax. Using make shift paint on old windows or scraps of found wood. Because that’s the only thing that’s left…
Process: Starting small and simple, from the bottom up with acrylics and canvas paper, I created my first series of 4 ocean themed pieces. 

Roots of the Chi (above)

Squid in the Reef 

Anemones on the coral

Underwater Sunset

For these pieces, I washed my feet and slathered them with paint to create the reef and coral for the watery scenes. Spring and St. Patrick’s Day had me feeling the green.

This was a fun project to dust off the rust and be creative! 

Leave a Reply

